On Saturday, the club celebrated the 140th anniversary since the clubs inception in 1892.
Over 100 past and present members, swimmers, parents, coaches, officials and life members came together at GMHBA Stadium to reminisce on the clubs rich history. We were also joined by Christine Couzens, our local member of Parliament.
We give great credit to the wonderful sub-committee who put in a mountain of work in order for everyone to enjoy the night and celebrate achievements both past and present.
You can view our club history, photos from the night and our 140 years of GSC video below.
The Geelong Swimming Club has a long and proud history, forming on December 7th, 1882. The club was created via the merging of Geelong, Meredith, Geelong Western, Parkside and St Helens Swimming Clubs. The original name of the club was Geelong Western Swimming Club.
Women were first allowed into the club in 1929, however decided to form their own club – the Geelong Western Ladies Swimming Club. In 1959 they returned, but retained their own identity within the club and even had their own committee. The club amalgamated in May 1966.
In 1970, the club officially changed its name to the Geelong Swimming Club and established its headquarters at the Geelong & District Memorial Swimming Centre (Kardinia Aquatic Centre), where it remains. In 1984, the club become an incorporated body – The Geelong Swimming Club Inc.